Being Hard On Yourself

After school ended in April I needed a job. Money ran out. A month went by and I hadn’t found a job yet.

On the May 2/4 weekend I was chatting with my Father. I was a bit stressed about not working, school debt, and my future (typical).

He noticed my behaviour and stopped me,

D, you’re too hard on yourself. For the last month you’ve been looking for a job. Putting resumes out and making calls. That’s better than losers out there not doing anything. Give yourself a break. Geez.

Coming from him that made me feel a whole lot better. I look up to my Father and don’t want to disappoint him. Has always been that way. I think I’m hard on myself because I want to impress him and show him I’m not a loser.

He knows I’m not. He’s proud of me and the effort I’ve made in the last 3 years (and at other times throughout my life).

We’ve got to remember to take stock in what we’ve accomplished. It could be as simple as getting the days errands completed (I love doing that), something a little more challenging like getting a job interview, or changing it up like moving into an apartment of your own (which I will being doing before the end of this year).

What have I accomplished?

  • Working 3 jobs (got a new summer job, they’re definitely going to ask me to stay on in the fall)
  • Went back to school, staring my second semester this September
  • Casually dating a (I hope she thinks the same, I may have been a bit uncalibrated) 21 year old, she calls me daddy (during sex)
  • Have been taking only cold showers for a few weeks now

Other than school, this all happened in the last 3 months. I really should give myself more credit.

We’ve got to stop putting too much pressure on ourselves. Staying motivated and disciplined is a good thing but to be constantly comparing yourself to fitness and self-improvement gurus isn’t. I know, I’ve done that.

Stop being too hard on yourself.

Come on, I know you’ve done something productive lately. Comment below and share with us what it is.

giphy-punch.gif


(I’m doing Lucky’s 7 Day Challenge. Try to write a post everyday for 7 days. Any of you bloggers out there are more than welcome to join us!)

9 thoughts on “Being Hard On Yourself”

  1. my therapist said the same thing, that true self motivation comes from positive encouragement. self criticism is the lack of a real motivation system.

    “Have been taking only cold showers for a few weeks now”

    bad ass.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “self criticism is the lack of a real motivation system.”

      Interesting way of thinking about it.

      What’s it like being in a therapy session?

      Like

Have something to say?

