The Nervous Braindown Podcast: Episode 3 – Medical Research and Cancer with guest Florian (from LifeScienceMentor.com)

dcllive nervous braindown ep 3.jpg
Not a picture of Florian.

In this episode 3 of The Nervous Braindown I have a guest joining me. He is a blogger, a biochemist, and the owner of LifeScienceMentor.com – Florian Ulrich

We talked for an hour and a bit. Before recording we chatted about the sphere, red pill, and Florian’s visit to the Gorilla Mindset Seminar.

In this episode we discuss cancer and cancer-research. I did my best to conduct an interview-type session. I tried not to interrupt or talk over Florian. Sometimes I did, but it is good practice for future episodes (I also had some beers while doing it. It’s all about having fun).

Here is some information I found on being a good interviewer: (taken from here)

  • “To help you do this, drop your presumptions and knowledge about the person you are interviewing and become your target audience. Then you will know what level of detail you need to dig out of the person you are interviewing.”
  • “If you rely on prepared questions so much that your mind isn’t open to diverging down different paths based on how your interview guest responds, your podcast can feel quite stunted. Being relaxed and enjoying the interview like a good conversation, engaging with what your subject is saying and showing real curiosity, is the key to a natural interview style.”
  • One final reminder that’s important for all you people out there who love to talk – the interview is not about you.
  • “You can add to the interview, briefly, by offering your own reinforcing story, or relevant comment, but don’t start interviewing yourself. I like to focus on two things as my role as the interviewer –
    • Asking the questions
    • Summarizing the answers”

I’m clearly still new to podcasting. Feel free to give me feedback on what you think I did well or things I need to improve on.

The first 48min of our Skype conversation is from Florian’s computer recoroded through his iPhone (this part I tried my best in post-production to get rid of the static-hiss sound, it’s the best I could do, the audio is low for the first part).

The last 18min of our Skype conversation is recorded from Florian’s iMac (this last part has a much better sound quality than the first part).

(also thanks to Beppo for telling me how to upload a long video to youtube)


Part 1 – iPhone
(first 48min)

  • Promises for research development (it’s all about the money)
  • The Golden Standard of scientific research
  • Treatments for cancers
  • Inflammation (acid reflux, Crohn’s disease)
  • Sequencing the genome (tailor made medications)
  • Using medical marijuana as a treatment (mentions Kratom)
  • The spread of cancer and the immune response (what’s going on at the cellular level ?)
  • Future health insurance bollocks! (“I see you have a gene that could potentially lead to cancer, we will NOT cover you.”)
  • Health Care systems (private vs universal)

Part 2 – iMac 
(last 18min)

 

5 thoughts on “The Nervous Braindown Podcast: Episode 3 – Medical Research and Cancer with guest Florian (from LifeScienceMentor.com)”

  1. You have a great natural radio voice. Unfortunately you couldn’t really hear yours or Florian’s voice in the first part. One solution that I’ve heard of is for each person to record their side of the conversation and then one person sends the wav file to the other person so he sync them up. Doing it this way is a bit more hassle but it means it’s easier to fix up later and you have way better audio quality.

    One other small thing is to shorten your intro music. I personally think it shouldn’t be longer than a few seconds.

    I’m looking forward to hearing your next podcast

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “You have a great natural radio voice.”

      Hey thanks Ed. I wasn’t sure how my voice would come across and if people would actually like it.

      “Unfortunately you couldn’t really hear yours or Florian’s voice in the first part”

      You are right. It was my third time ever doing a Skype chat. First one trying to record. I like your idea of having each person record their own part. Great idea.

      “One other small thing is to shorten your intro music. I personally think it shouldn’t be longer than a few seconds.”

      Florian mentioned that as well. I just digged the song so much (I made it on my computer) that I like to jam to it a bit. But you are right, got to shorten it. Still have to find a good song that fits.

      Hey, any chance you would want to come on the show? We could talk about whatever or something specific.

      Thanks for listening man.

      Like

Have something to say?

