D Live On Nutrition: GERDs The Word

what-is-GERD

Do not let your health get to a point where you have to start taking medication. Become self aware enough to be able to recognize if your behavior and bad habits are effecting your health in a negative way.

Last year, around June, I was diagnosed with a stomach condition called GERD. That stands for Gastroesophageal reflux disease. This condition is developed when an increase in stomach acid creates intense discomfort and complications inside the stomach.

As a result of me having GERD for awhile, and not knowing about it and continuing to lead an unhealthy lifestyle (I thought intense stomach acid and heartburn where normal for someone my age and with my lifestyle), I also developed something called Barrett’s Esophagus. Basically the bottom part of my esophagus was burned away from the increased amount of acid in my stomach.

ONE A DAY

Now I am on a PPI called, “Tecta” – taken once a day. Never thought I would be on pills, for anything.

For the longest time (until only very recently) I ignored a healthy lifestyle. Binge drinking, partying and drugs where a staple of my early twenties. Fitness was not part of my life. I also ignored healthy eating practices and just sort of ate whatever, whenever.

I have had to make drastic changes to my life. For example, I no longer smoke cigarettes (although I will have one or two while I am out on the town, I used to have a pack a week), I do not drink nearly as much as I used to (three days drinking, then a day off then repeat, was standard for me, now it is once a week) and I am actually taking my nutrition seriously for the first time in my life.

WHO YOU KNOW

A bartender friend of mine heard I was looking for a nutritionist and recommended a female friend of his. Her name is S.

I soon contacted S and began a correspondence with her to set up a meeting to see if nutrition consulting is for me.

The initial meeting we sat down and talked about my lifestyle and eating habits and got to know each other a bit. Just before S graduated, to become a Nutritionist, she said she started to notice inconsistencies within the curriculum, faculty and promotion of certain health practices or diets. One example she gave was that more than half of her teachers were overweight and did not actually live a healthy life like the ones they were preaching and teaching. So after she graduated she started her own nutrition consulting business.

GOOD START

Since mid July I have been seeing S once a week. She shares wonderful advice with me about nutrition. So I figured that since basic health practices, like eating good food, eludes a lot of people (it certainly did me) I thought I would share her information with you guys so you can try it out yourself. (NOTE – not all nutrition plans work for everyone, the one that works for me might not work for you, but having a place to start – like which food to actually eat – is as good as any.

In a couple of days I will start sharing the email correspondence that S and I have regarding nutrition. There are some good tips in them and more to come. So stay tuned!

Also, I would love to hear about the lifestyle changes and eating habits that you have made in order to improve your overall health and well being. -d

12 thoughts on “D Live On Nutrition: GERDs The Word”

Have something to say?

